January 6, 1931 – Raymond Torrey to JSA

  • January 6, 1931 – Raymond Torrey to JSA

The Association for the Protection of the Adirondacks

Old Tribune Building

No. 154 Nassau Street

New York City

   Dear Mr. Apperson:

Mr. John G. Apgar, President of the Association for the Protection of the Adirondacks, asks me to acknowledge the receipt of your letter of Jan. 2, enclosing comments on your “Tree Cutting” pamphlet, by William G. Howard, superintendent of the Division of Lands and Forests.

I sent you yesterday, by Mr. Agar’s direction, an official statement of the position of the Association on the amendments affecting the Forest Preserve. I enclose a copy of it.

With New Year’s greetings, I am,

Sincerely yours,

Raymond H. Torrey




President – John G. Agar

Vice-Presidents – Samuel H. Ordway, George Welwood Murray, Robert W. DeForest, E.R.A. Seligman, Henry S. Harper

Treasurer – George D. Pratt

Asst. Treasurer and Secretary – Raymond H. Torrey

Trustees: John G. Agar, Dr. Edward R. Baldwin, John B. Burnham, Russell M. L. Carson, Ernest T. Carter, Walter H. Cluett, Robert W. Deforest, Dr. Samuel M. Evans, Leroy E. Frost, Henry Graves, Jr., Henry S. Harper, Archer M. Huntington, Thomas P. Kingsford, Robert Marshall, Benjamin B. McAlpin, Charles W. McCutchen, J. Pierpont Morgan, George Welwood Murray, Samuel H. Ordway, Henry Fairfield Osborn, Henry Fairfield Osborn, George Foster Peabody, George D. Pratt, Percy A. Rockefeller, E.R.A. Seligman, Augustus D. Shepard, Francis Louis Slade, Eris P. Swenson, Ottomar H. Van Norden, William G. Ver Planck, Farnham Yardley